Each year, Preservation Woodstock chooses a citizen who has been instrumental in the preservation of the city’s heritage and history to receive the Barbara Ingram Citizen of the Year Award. Barbara Ingram was secretary and co-chair of the Woodstock Centennial Commission that planned and organized the celebration of the city’s 100th birthday in 1997., She died in December 1996, just one month short of the beginning of the year-long centennial celebration. The award was suggested by Mayor David Rogers as a way to honor Barbara and others who would follow her example in efforts to preserve the city’s history. Recipients are chosen by the members of PW which was originally the Woodstock Centennial Commission. Presentation of the award is at the gazebo in the city park following the Holiday Jubilee parade on the first Saturday in December.

1997 Juanita Hughes

1998 Smith Johnston, Jr.

1999 Glenn Hubbard

2000 David Rogers (posthumous)

2001 Mary Lou Reece

2002 Claud Barnes      

2003 Homer Hughes

2004 Denver Rainey

2005 Mary Johnston

2006 Millicent Fox

2007 Christine Blight   

2008 Raymond Dodson

2009 Elaine Hubbard

2010 Jo Marchildon

2011 Kim Jordy

2012 Bill Johnston

2013 Patti Brady

2014 Jim Drinkard

2015 Kristina Havens

Woodstock Public Library moves to the old bank building, southwest corner of Main and Church Streets in 1972.